so now that we're down to like the last 2 months before the wedding (holy mother of the earth), i knew it was about that time to get my dress alterations done.
i had initially called a wedding dress alterations shop. i figured i'd get the alterations done and at the same time try to hustle i mean borrow a veil from their collection (this shop also rents dresses and wedding accessories). two birds, that kind of thing.
but alas, the owner warned me that their prices for the basic alterations i needed wouldn't be worth it. and it's true. my dress doesn't need all that much work...just a little shortening here, a little hook added there, and that's about it. he told me any alterations shop could do the job.
i was bummed for a sec. because there went my plan to get a veil on the sly. so i accepted that there would be no veil (i'm not buying one separately and i don't want to construct one on my own) and i was all set to call up regular tailoring shops for prices...when i remembered my relative.
you see, i have a relative who is a fabulous seamstress. in fact, she built my prom dress from scratch, back when i was 18. you know, back when i had the body of an 18-year old. *sigh* anyways, i had given her a roll of white satin fabric and sketched what i thought i'd wanted to wear. mind you...i don't draw. nor am i a designer. but she constructed it. and after 1 fitting, it was perfect. srsly. in fact, i should dig up my prom picture to show you.
wouldn't that be fun.
anyways. so this past weekend, i took my wedding dress (the dress that sadly cost $$$$ instead of $$$ or $$ or $) and she pinned and pinned. and i twirled and i walked and i giggled. heh.
anyways. so unexpectedly, i won't be paying for alterations. i mean, i plan to thank her in some way of course. but still. it's not like she's charging me.
and my dress will have the touch of family on it. kind of cool.
p.s. am i a hustler? kind of.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
0 comments:
Post a Comment