we hired a dj.
it was a TOUGH decision, let me tell you. i went back and forth on it a million times. to dj or not to dj. to spend the money or not to spend the money. and fiance was unmoved either way.
can i also add that negotiating with djs isn't easy? the djs i contacted didn't move much on their price and even with a lot of back and forthing, they all ended up hovering around the same price range.
and by same, i mean out of my price range.
eventually, i contacted a friend of a friend who used to promote at clubs and now books gigs and manages 2 of her dj friends. i had done my homework and found that other friends who've used them had really liked what they did. so i asked how much they would charge for what i needed...and found that they were around that same 'out of my price range' price range.
i negotiated to the best of my freaking ability and was able to knock off a bit. and looking back, i think i could have been an even stronger negotiator. but it was tricky because she was a friend of a friend.
during negotiations, she promised no hidden fees, no extra charges, the rate was inclusive of all travel and equipment handling fees...and tips. plus, no upfront deposits - just payment in full after a job well done. and she also offered to step up and semi-coordinate the day while 2 djs manned the music.
AND because she's a friend of a friend, i trust her.
trust = key.
so. after all that, it felt kind of right and we bit the bullet. the more i think about it, the more i think it was the right choice for us.
i didn't even feel right delegating someone to light candles around the room, let alone man an ipod for a few hours.
although, now that she's acting as a semi-coordinator, i suppose i could ask her to light the candles.
anyways.
so getting to the 'hip hop at noon' thing. we're having a lunch reception. and our venue is not outdoors...it's a restaurant. and it's mostly family. given those things, i just really don't think people will feel like dancing. i've never been to a daytime wedding so i don't know.
as i discuss the playlist with the djs, should i assume people won't want to get down so early in the day and keep the music on the mellow side? or should i not assume anything?
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
0 comments:
Post a Comment